Call Your Daughter Home - Deb Spera

Call Your Daughter Home

By Deb Spera

  • Release Date: 2019-06-11
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 499 Ratings

Description

Featured on Oprah’s Summer Reading List

For readers of Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It’s 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude’s aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

“Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company.”
— O, The Oprah Magazine

“A mesmerizing Southern tale…Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored.”
— Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

Reviews

  • An unexpected pleasure

    3
    By Eye Full Tower
    I stumbled across this book in a random search, and was drawn to the way the characters are voiced. It is a beautiful book, that illuminates the old South in ways that are important to understanding our culture. As a septuagenarian Midwesterner, this was truly an unexpected journey for me. I look forward to reading more Mc Neal.
  • Deep and Meaty

    5
    By HeartHenry
    There are writers that get southern women, and there are pretenders. Deb Spera absolutely belongs in the first category. She does such a great job defining the differences between each of the three main characters by the time i reached the middle of the book, I knew them as if they were kin.
  • Beautifully writen

    5
    By Mauri in Paradise Valley
    I loved every scene, every character, every description. I could feel the air, smell the countryside and taste every meal! Wonderfully done, thank you!!
  • Really good!

    5
    By Emllap
    Enjoyed this book a lot. If you’re a mom or daughter - you probably will too.
  • Southern wonderful!

    5
    By Georgie Belle
    Loved the book. Kept me reading and looking forward to coming back to it when forced to put it down. Lessons to be learned and interesting characters. Story line was excellent and full of surprises! Pearl Pearlie Belle Georgie Belle
  • Amazing.

    5
    By Melissa 1002
    Read this book in under 24 hours. I haven’t done that in more than 15 years.
  • My kind of book!

    5
    By Enerergen
    I woke up at 4:08 am eager to finish this book. Are you a fan of a “good southern novel”. It’s my favorite flavor. It reads more like painted words, more like visual art. The story could be told in a minimal of pages but the treasure can only be harvested page by page. Info about the author is a worthy read as well. She creates strong characters, not because of who they were but how they were. I can’t wait for more from Deb
  • Incredible!

    5
    By Bear's Mama
    This book was moving & beautifully written. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Undoubtably will read it over & over.