The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue - V. E. Schwab

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

By V. E. Schwab

  • Release Date: 2020-10-06
  • Genre: Historical
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 2,002 Ratings

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine
#1 Library Reads PickOctober 2020
#1 Indie Next PickOctober 2020
BOOK OF THE YEAR (2020) FINALISTBook of The Month Club

A “Best Of” Book From: Oprah Mag * CNN * Amazon * Amazon Editors * NPR * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com * Bookish * Book Riot * Library Reads Voter Favorite *

In the vein of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab’s genre-defying tour de force.

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.


France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever—and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Reviews

  • A timeless escape

    5
    By DMHDEHJAH
    A pure fairy tale; but one that almost feels real ...
  • okay

    3
    By lizzie1935
    it was pretty boring at first and only got interesting in the last 75 pages. i wouldnt read it again but it was an okay book
  • The Invisible Life Of Addie Larue

    1
    By porker74
    Can not believe good reviews for this book. Too long and repetitive. I wish I did not waste my time.
  • Must Read. Painting a beautiful life with words.

    5
    By Hannahsage
    This is the first time I read Schwab and when I say I literally never write reviews I NEVER write reviews. But I absolutely loved this book and I highly recommend it- such a poignant way to capture the beauty of life
  • Complete waste of time!

    1
    By Mojosmajik
    Bought this book because of the high ratings, what a total letdown. So sorry I wasted my money
  • All the feels

    4
    By Whitmben
    This book was one of those that is more engrossed in feelings than actions—beautifully written. And weirdly incredibly relatable. Yet, I felt perhaps it was a tad longer than it needed to be. And yet again, I highly recommend it.
  • wow.

    5
    By Livesk8rock
    amazing. read this book. you won’t regret it.
  • Slow Simmer

    5
    By Zbubz123456778916
    You’ll find a slow start, but simmering always blends flavors better than a roiling boil.
  • Nope!

    1
    By Funjen417
    A lot of build up for nothing.
  • Amazing.

    5
    By MadelineReads
    Left me in tears, wishing there were more pages to be read. If only I could read it again for the first time.