The Bad-Tempered Goat - Sara Wernham

The Bad-Tempered Goat

By Sara Wernham

  • Release Date: 2004-04-30
  • Genre: Education


The Bad-Tempered Goat is part of the Jolly Phonics Readers Level 3 Inky Mouse and Friends series. It is the third of four levels of decodable books, providing the best start for children just starting to read. 

In addition to the 42 letter sounds, and /y/ used for the /ee/ sound at the end of words like ‘funny’, Level 3 introduces the ‘magic e’ for spelling words with the long vowels, as in ‘make’, ‘like’, ‘bone’ and ‘tune’.
Tricky words are shown at the beginning of each book. Comprehension questions and discussion topics are provided at the end of each book. Also includes guidance for teachers and parents. Light type is used as a guide for those few letters that should not be sounded out, such as the /b/ in lamb.

Titles included in the Inky Mouse and Friends series:

What’s in the Box?
The Old Red Tractor
The Model Boat
Wait and See!
The Bad-Tempered Goat
The Tree That Blinked