The Bird House - Sara Wernham

The Bird House

By Sara Wernham

  • Release Date: 2008-01-30
  • Genre: Education


The Bird House is part of the Jolly Phonics Readers Level 4 Inky Mouse and Friends series. It is the fourth of four levels of decodable books, providing the best start for children just starting to read.

In addition to the 42 letter sounds, /y/ used for the /ee/ sound at the end of words like ‘funny’ and  the ‘magic e’ for spelling words with the long vowels, as in ‘make’, ‘like’, ‘bone’ and ‘tune’. Level 4 features all the Jolly Phonics alternative vowel spellings that are used to make words like ‘day’, ‘seat’, ‘night’, ‘snow’, ‘few’, ‘girl’, ‘straw’, ‘boy’ and ‘scowl’.

Tricky words are shown at the beginning of each book. Comprehension questions and discussion topics are provided at the end of each book. Also includes guidance for teachers and parents. Light type is used as a guide for those few letters that should not be sounded out, such as the /b/ in lamb.

Titles included in the Inky Mouse and Friends series:

The Bird House
Daisy and Buttercup
The New Kitten
An Inter-Hive Match
The Maize Maze
Beach Rescue