Rook Wood - Sara Wernham

Rook Wood

By Sara Wernham

  • Release Date: 2020-09-01
  • Genre: Education


Rook Wood is part of the Jolly Phonics Little Word Books series. It is the ninth of fourteen decodable readers providing a gradual and structured start for children who are just learning to read. 

The ninth and tenth books in the series, Rook Wood and Moon Landing, use only decodable regular words made up from the first five groups of letter sounds: 

s, a, t, i, p, n
c k, e, h, r, m, d
g, o, u, l, f, b
ai, j, oa, ie, ee, or
z, w, ng, v, little oo, long oo

Tips and guidance for teachers and parents are provided at the end of each book. Light type is used as a guide for those few letters that should not be sounded out, such as the /b/ in ‘lamb’.