Twenty Years After - Alexandre Dumas

Twenty Years After

By Alexandre Dumas

  • Release Date: 1870-12-05
  • Genre: Historical
Score: 4.5
From 133 Ratings


Twenty Years After is a novel by Alexandre Dumas, père. This sequel to The Three Musketeers and a book of the so-called D'Artagnan Romances was serialized from January to August, 1845. This book, like most of Dumas' work is wonderful. His adventure stories still evoke a sense of wonderment and raise the hairs on the back of your neck. The series was originally published as a trilogy, The Three Musketeers, Twenty Years After, and Vicomte de Bragelonne. The Vicomte de Bragelonne is now published by most in three volumes: Vicomte de Bragellone, Louise de la Valliere, and finally The Man in the Iron Mask. You may have seen it split into four parts with Ten Years Later being placed in between the Vicomte de Bragellone and Louise de la Valliere.


  • Yet a greater classic!

    By Sam1129
    While "The Three Musketeers" remains a classic, "Twenty Years After" is the superior work. The stakes are higher, the intrigue is richer, and tight bonds of friendship are tested. While there are no antagonists of the caliber of Milady and Richelieu, Mordaunt is a worthy opponent in his own right. An excellent follow-up to a literary classic!