Willa Cather's Bundle of 16 Books - Willa Cather

Willa Cather's Bundle of 16 Books

By Willa Cather

  • Release Date: 2014-09-05
  • Genre: Classics


Willa Sibert Cather was an American author who achieved recognition for her novels of frontier life on the Great Plains, in works such as O Pioneers! My Antonia, and The Song of the Lark. In 1923 she was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for One of Ours (1922), a novel set during World War I. Cather grew up in Nebraska and graduated from the University of Nebraska. She lived and worked in Pittsburgh for ten years, then at the age of 33 she moved to New York, where she lived for the rest of her life.

Cather admired Henry James as a "mighty master of language and keen student of human actions and motives." She generally preferred past literary masters to contemporary writers. Some particular favorites were Dickens, Thackeray, Emerson, Hawthorne, Balzac, Flaubert, and Tolstoy.

While Cather enjoyed the novels of George Eliot, the Bronte’s, and Jane Austen, she regarded most women writers with disdain, judging them overly sentimental and mawkish. Cather's biographer James Woodress notes that Cather "so completely ... embraced masculine values that when she wrote about women writers, she sounded like a patronizing man." One contemporary exception was Sarah Orne Jewett, who became Cather's friend and mentor. Jewett advised Cather to use female narrators in her fiction, but Cather preferred to write from a male point of view. Jewett also encouraged Cather to write about subjects that had "teased the mind" for years. Chief among these subjects were the people and experiences Cather remembered from her years in Nebraska. She dedicated O Pioneers! the first novel in her Prairie Trilogy, to Jewett.

This Book Contains Bundle of 16 best titles of Willa Cather.

1: Alexander's Bridge
 2: Death Comes for the Archbishop
 3: A Lost Lady
 4: Lucy Gayheart
 5: My Antonia
 6: My Mortal Enemy
 7: Not Under Forty
 8: O Pioneers!
 9: Obscure Destinies
 10: One of Ours
 11: The Professor's House
 12: Sapphira and the Slave Girl
 13: Shadows on the Rock
 14: The Song of the Lark
 15: The Troll Garden, and selected stories
 16: Youth and the Bright Medusa